Procedural Safeguards - Measure F

Please click here for the first report on the implementation by the Member States of the Framework Decisions 2008/909/JHA, 2008/947/JHA and 2009/829/JHA on Transfer of Prisoners, on Probation and Alternative Sanctions and on the European Supervision Order, together with the accompanying staff working document (click here for the document).

As the European Commission, Council and Parliament have recognised, ‘excessively long periods of pre-trial detention are detrimental to the individual, can prejudice cooperation between the Member States, and do not represent the values for which the European Union stands’. This letter is to follow-up on the European Union’s work to tackle this problem and to urge the Commission to continue its work in this area beyond the current legislative programme, including developing a timeframe for tabling a legislative proposal setting common minimum standards for the use of pre-trial detention in the EU.

Please click here for the letter.

Please click here for an open letter regarding pre-trial detention sent to Viviane Reding, European Commission Vice-President in charge of Justice.

This letter was signed by Amnesty International European Institutions Office, Association Européenne pour la Défense des Droits de l'Homme, Association for the Prevention of Torture, European Criminal Bar Association, Harm Reduction International, Irish Penal Reform Trust, Defence for Children International, Fair Trials International, Human Rights Monitoring Institute Lithuania, JUSTICE, Open Society Justice Initiative, Quaker Council for European Affairs and Prisoners Abroad.

– A Green Paper on the application of EU criminal justice legislation in the field of detention

On 14 June the European Commission launched its consultation "Strengthening mutual trust in the European judicial area – A Green Paper on the application of EU criminal justice legislation in the field of detention".

See the following:

Please click here for the ECBA response as sent to the European Commission on 30 November 2011.